Continuing Certification Requirements

The HMDC® credential is valid for 6 years. The hospice physician must complete continuous learning activities and satisfy other general Continuing Certification requirements every six years to maintain an active certification status. 

Due to the timing of the Continuing Certification Program rollout, physicians certified in the first three years (2014 – 2016) have reduced requirements for their first cycle. 

The following outlines the required components of HMDCB’s Continuing Certification program, which can also be found in the Continuing Certification Program Candidate Handbook. 


Continuously hold a current, active, and unrestricted license to practice medicine in the United States or its territories or any province of Canada.

Professional Development Tool

Complete the HMDCB Professional Development Tool once per 6-year cycle; recommended in the third year.

Results are provided solely to the certificant for learning development; a tool for guidance on areas where certificants may need further study.

CME / Professional Development 

Obtain 150 points of continuous learning during the Continuing Certification cycle. Points may be earned exclusively through Continuing Medical Education (CME) or a combination of CME and Professional Activities. If using a combination, you must obtain a minimum of 108 points through CME and up to 42 points through Professional Activities

Online Examination

Pass a computer-based, multiple-choice examination.